Being convicted of a sex crime often results in ramifications that are sure to follow you for the rest of your life. Apart from serving a significant amount of time behind bars and ruining your reputation, you’ll also more than likely be required to register as a sex offender.
Below, we discuss what it’s like to live as a registered sex offender and what will happen if you fail to meet this critical requirement upon your release.
Living as a Registered Sex Offender
When you register as a sex offender at your local police department, you will need to provide them with all of your personal information, including the following:
- Where you live
- A description of the crime you were convicted of
- Where you work—if you’re able to find a job
- Your email address, phone number, and any other forms of communication
- Your social media profile information
- What you look like
You’ll also be required to submit a photo or have your photo taken by law enforcement. The majority of these details will be considered public information, which means that anyone looking you up online will be able to find this information. This can result in the loss of your job, the inability to find a job, and limit your ability to find suitable and safe housing.
What Happens if You Choose Not to Register
By law, you will be required to register as a sex offender with your local precinct within seven days of your release from jail or prison. Those considered to be violent sex offenders will have just seventy-two hours to register. Then, you’ll need to re-register yourself as a sex offender each year until you meet the terms of your sentencing, or in some cases, for the rest of your life.
If you have never been charged with a crime prior to the current sex crime you were convicted of, and you fail to register as a sex offender within the set timelines, you’ll be facing Class A misdemeanor charges, which are punishable by the revocation of your probation or parole, one year in prison, and fines of up to $5,000.
Sex offenders who have prior convictions of any kind can be charged with a level 6 felony, punishable by the revocation of your probation or parole, up to two-and-a-half years in prison, and fines not to exceed $10,000. As you can see, failure to register as a sex offender in a timely manner is a serious offense that should not be taken lightly.
Get Help from an Indiana Sex Crime Lawyer
If you’ve been charged with a sex crime, you will likely be required to register as a sex offender. Reach out to an experienced Indiana sex crime lawyer at Rowdy G. Williams Law Firm today. Simply give our office a call at 1-812-232-7400 or fill out the brief contact form located at the bottom of this page to schedule your initial consultation today.