What Are the Penalties For a First Time DUI in Indiana
Facing a driving under the influence (DUI) charge is a serious offense and a conviction can follow you for years to come. Fortunately, the penalties for a first-time offender are less severe than a habitual offender. Continue reading to learn more about the consequences of a DUI conviction in Indiana and what your attorney can do to help you avoid conviction.
Facing Your First DUI Charge
When you’re charged with a DUI, this means you’ve been accused of having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more, or that you have a controlled substance in your system, such as methamphetamine or marijuana.
If convicted, you can expect your vehicle to be fitted with an ignition interlock device (IID) for up to sixty days, spend between sixty to 180 days in jail, and pay fines up to $500. What’s more, your conviction will remain on your record for years to come, which could impact your opportunity to take out federal student loans for school or even find gainful employment.
Beating a Conviction
Thankfully, just because you’ve been charged with a DUI doesn’t mean you’ve been found guilty. Your attorney has a number of different defensive strategies available for use in your case.
For instance, we can argue that your field sobriety or chemical tests were improperly issued, or that the results were inaccurate. Perhaps the police officer who arrested you made an unlawful stop, which means they didn’t have a good reason to pull you over. In any case, you do have options to beat your conviction, and your attorney will do everything possible to do so.
Work With an Indiana DUI Lawyer
When you need a highly trained Indiana DUI lawyer on your side, get in touch with the talented attorneys at Rowdy G. Williams Law Firm. We are currently accepting consultations with potential clients, and you can schedule yours when you call our office at 1-812-232-7400 or fill out the brief contact form at the bottom of this page.