Terre Haute DUI FAQ
Although getting a DUI charge in Terre Haute can be a frightening experience, you’ll probably feel a little better after discussing your case with a DUI lawyer from our firm.
You’re welcome to call us at any time to ask questions or get started on your defense. In the meantime, review the frequently asked questions below.
Will My License Be Suspended for My First DUI?
Yes, if you’re convicted of a first-time DUI, your license will be suspended. The length of your suspension will increase if you have prior offenses. The only way to avoid a license suspension is to avoid a conviction.
What Factors Turn a Misdemeanor DUI Into a Felony DUI?
DUIs—often referred to as operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) in Indiana—will become felonies if they involve the following: prior convictions for DUI, the involvement of a passenger under the age of eighteen, or an accident resulting in serious bodily injury.
What Fines Will I Have to Pay for a DUI Conviction?
A first-offense DUI will result in a fine of up to $5,000, as well as court fees. A second DUI will result in a fine of up to $10,000. A third offense will result in a fine of up to $10,000. What happens if I refuse to take a chemical test?
Your license will be suspended for a minimum of one year. This is because one of the conditions of operating a motor vehicle in Indiana is that you must give consent to take a chemical test. If you have a license, you have already agreed to submit to a chemical test as requested by a police officer.
Reach Out to a Terre Haute DUI Lawyer
Every DUI case is unique, and an attorney from Rowdy G. Williams Law Firm would be happy to examine your case. We can let you know your defense options and will work hard to defend you against a DUI conviction. Call 1-812-232-7400 or complete the contact form below to get in touch today.