Criminal Trespass Laws in Indiana
Property owners across Indiana have the right to order a person to leave their property and to deny anyone entry into their property at any time, for any reason.
If you find yourself facing a criminal trespassing charge, it is likely because you entered a property without consent of the property owner, or because you refused to leave after being ordered to do so. Continue reading to learn more about the penalties associated with each of these criminal trespassing laws.
The Order to Leave
An order to leave is when a property owner refuses to admit someone onto their property in any way. If, after being denied entry, they continue onto the property, they’ll be facing Class A misdemeanor charges. This means that, if convicted, they could be facing up to one year in jail and fines not to exceed $5,000.
Refusing to Leave Someone’s Property
The other most common type of criminal trespass is someone refusing to leave the property of another after being ordered to do so. If anyone refuses to leave the property owner’s premises, they will face the same Class A misdemeanor charges.
However, if the property in question is government property, and there is damage caused to the property, the accused will be facing level 6 felony charges and could spend a maximum of two-and-a-half years in prison and pay fines not to exceed $10,000.
Work With an Indiana Criminal Trespass Lawyer
If you’ve been charged with criminal trespassing and want to ensure that you have a high quality defense ready to beat your charges, reach out to an experienced Indiana criminal trespass lawyer at Rowdy G. Williams Law Firm. You can schedule an initial consultation with your attorney by completing the quick contact form below or by giving our office a call at 1-812-232-7400.